Thee Angel Project

A year of writing a little bit of everything. Writers Write, Right?

so here’s what i learned

Leave a comment

If you read yesterday’s post, I would imagine you have an opinion about the ice bucket challenge, even if you chose to not share it.

I’m not sure if people are doing this because they are unsure of how to say no, or because they really do want to give…which I think maybe we should all be challenged to do on a regular basis anyway.

But for me, at this time, my gifts have to be directed somewhere else. My reason is summed up in one simple word,

LIFE.

This is the deal breaker for me and I pray earnestly that if I ever have to deal with devastation the likes of ALS, that I will still feel the same. Because as difficult as it is, I also believe it’s right.

I did watch this. (Thank you Shonda.) It is heartbreaking. I cannot begin to imagine or understand what it is to live with a degenerative disease that you have watched take over your entire family.

I also read this and this. (Thank you Kara.)

I know it is physically impossible for me to check the beneficiaries of every penny I spend. I know that I unknowingly support causes I abhor because I don’t research carefully the facts of every company I support with my purchases. I get that. But, now I know that part of the money given to support those suffering from ALS goes to research that involves embryonic stem cells. Embryos. Babies. I cannot ignore that fact.

There’s no good way to end this post. Tomorrow’s topic will be lighter. I promise.

Author: Heather

I want you to see life the way I see it. Often contradictory, seldom predictable, many times lovely, occasionally tragic, but every day filled with God's grace.

your comments are better than eating chocolate in a hammock on a 70 degree day...almost

