Thee Angel Project

A year of writing a little bit of everything. Writers Write, Right?

family

1 Comment

We spent the evening last night with family, cousins to be specific.
I’ve read all of the facebook posts about cousins being your best friends, and though I don’t know from experience (my cousins are all much older than I am) I can see through the eyes of my children how important cousin time is to them.

What are the familial relationships you attempt to nurture the most for your children?
What are your favorite things to do with your family? Be specific.
How do you grow relationships with family members that are a day’s drive or more away?

Author: Heather

I want you to see life the way I see it. Often contradictory, seldom predictable, many times lovely, occasionally tragic, but every day filled with God's grace.

One thought on “family

  1. Growing up there were a few sets of cousins that lived near our family. I remember being together and playing and I do believe there are special relationships with cousins. We had an annual family reunion that rocked! Unfortunately, due to family squabbles, our annual family reunion ceased to exist. It’s sad, truly it is. I have so many fond memories of when I was a younger child of our annual June family reunions at a lake. One year it was at my parents farm when I was six or seven. Total fun and music and laughing and games and fishing and just fun. I am thankful for Facebook now, because we can keep in contact and see what our extended families lives are becoming and sharing our lives as well. That is one huge plus to Facebook as families no longer stay in the same area alot of times.

    My siblings and I are close, especially my sisters and I. I think due to the squabbles of the past of our aunts and uncles and parent we just decided that our relationships wouldn’t have that happen. We may get on one another’s nerves or disagree but we always are the first ones that to support and love one another. My sisters and I make it a point to have a weekend away once per year.

    Now that I have raised children with their own families, I would like to have a monthly dinner with them all at our home. This is still a work in progress. I plan to purchase that royal rummy game and teach those girls how to play! 🙂

    Family an hour away… .hum…. attend birthday parties or send cards here and there. Need to work on that area!

    Thanks for the great post!
    Julie

your comments are better than eating chocolate in a hammock on a 70 degree day...almost

