Thee Angel Project

A year of writing a little bit of everything. Writers Write, Right?

playlist

Leave a comment

When my now 13 year old began to attempt to navigate the world of itunes, I was right by his side. Any music he wanted to download had to pass the ranks of my knowledgeable fingers for they were the only ones that knew the magic password.

After awhile though, his musical discernment proved itself trustworthy and his fingers gained that precious knowledge as well.

I hadn’t been paying much attention to what he was listening to until yesterday when my MP3 player stopped working. In an effort to not listen to any more of the cartoons coming from the DVD player on our way to Colorado, I grabbed his.

This is just a part of his playlist.

My Lighthouse – Rend Collective

Brave – Sara Barelles

Eye of the Tiger – Survivor

Brand New Man – Brooks and Dunn

Good Feeling – Flo Rida

Original Ghostbusters Theme Song

Our God is Love – Hillsong

Worn – Tenth Avenue North

The Reformation Polka

I have to say, I laughed a little bit as each new song began. The variety was awesome and there wasn’t anything that made me cringe.

He has audio from Abbott and Costello and C.S. Lewis. He has tunes from his favorite barbershop quartets and Straight No Chaser. All good stuff.

I’m doing a little cheer of delight and sending a prayer of thanksgiving and a plea of mercy, hoping his love of a little bit of everything non-cringeworthy remains. I know we’ll probably have some musical differences at some point, but it’s nice to know right now, today, what he’s listening to.

What’s on your teen’s playlist?

 

 

Author: Heather

I want you to see life the way I see it. Often contradictory, seldom predictable, many times lovely, occasionally tragic, but every day filled with God's grace.

your comments are better than eating chocolate in a hammock on a 70 degree day...almost

